Date: 9th August 2018 at 6:23pm
Written by:

Steven Gerrard has named his starting eleven for tonight’s clash against Slovenian side Maribor at Ibrox.

The two sides meet in the third round of UEFA Europa League qualifying, two rounds away from the group stages of the competition. The winner of this tie will meet Russian side Ufa or old foes Progress Niederkorn in the play-off round.

As announced by UEFA, tonight’s squad is:

Starting XI: Allan McGregor, James Tavernier, Connor Goldson, Nikola Katic, Jon Flanagan, Lassana Coulibaly, Scott Arfield, Daniel Candieas, Ovie Ejaria, Ryan Kent, Alfredo Morelos.

Substitutes: Wes Foderingham, Jamie Murphy, Umar Sadiq, Andy Halliday, Ross McCrorie, Stephen Kelly, Glenn Middleton.

All of the players in the starting line-up have featured heavily already this summer but the manager has made a number of changes from the Aberden clash with Ovie Ejaria, Ryan Kent and Daniel Candeias all coming into the side to replace Ryan Jack, Jamie Murphy and Josh Windass.

Tonight’s encounter will be tough, but we can’t wait to see what the team can achieve, with a lead likely necessary to bring to Slovenia if we are to progress to the next round.

What are your thoughts on tonight’s team? Let us know in the comments…